June 3, 2009

2009 Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards

The 2009 Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards were announced June 2, 2009. "Presented annually since 1967, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards reward excellence in children’s and young adult literature and are given in three categories: Fiction and Poetry, Nonfiction, and Picture Book."

All three of the winning authors are widely renowned. Mr. Pratchett, perhaps best known for his raucous comic fantasies for children and adults, displays a philosophical bent with Nation, a young adult novel about two nineteenth-century children who create a new society from the ground up. Candace Fleming’s dual biography of the President and Mrs. Lincoln employs the intricate scrapbook format that distinguished her earlier Ben Franklin’s Almanac and Our Eleanor. Margaret Mahy, winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Award and a two-time recipient of Boston Globe–Horn Book Award honor book citations, has written scores of novels, easy readers, and picture books. Bubble Trouble, a tongue-twisting tale about an airborne baby, marks the New Zealander’s second collaboration with English illustrator Polly Dunbar.

Fiction and Poetry Winner:

Terry Pratchett
PZ7.P8865 Nat 2008

Nonfiction Winner:

The Lincolns: A Scrapbook Look at
Abraham and Mary

Candace Fleming
E457.905 .F58 2008

Picture Book Winner:

Bubble Trouble
Margaret Mahy
PZ8.3.M278 Bu 2009

This year the judges selected two honor books for each category.

Fiction and Poetry:

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing,
Traitor to the Nation: Volume 2,
The Kingdom on the Waves

M.T. Anderson
PZ7.A54395 Asu 2008

The Graveyard Book
Neil Gaiman
PZ7.G1273 Gr 2008


The Way We Work
David Macaulay
QP37.M28 2008

Almost Astronauts:
13 Women Who Dared to Dream

Tanya Lee Stone
TL789.85.A1 S79 2008

Picture Books:

Old Bear
Kevin Henkes
PZ7.H389 Okd 2008

Higher, Higher
Leslie Patricelli
PZ7.P2472 Hi 2009

All of the above titles are part of the AU library juvenile collection; all title links go to the library catalog.

Visit the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards web site for more information about past and present award winners, audio and video of acceptance speeches, and criteria and submission guidelines.